Hall to induct journalists, educator, legislator Sept. 17

This story was posted on July 19, 2016.

An Indiana legislator who was the principal sponsor the Indiana Open Door law will receive a distinguished service award and four journalists and one journalism educator also will be inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame Saturday, Sept. 17, in Indianapolis.

The inductees, selected by the board of the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame, will be honored in a reception at 10:30 a.m. followed by a luncheon and program at the Columbia Club, 121 Monument Circle, Indianapolis.

The inductees include:

Ed Breen, former managing editor of The Chronicle-Tribune in Marion and a former assistant managing editor of The Journal Gazette in Fort Wayne, who started his career as a reporter/photographer and was named Indiana Photographer of the year in 1967.

“Breen was a pioneer in the early days of full-color newspaper photography, one of those people who made the rest of us realize what was possible,” said nominator Jack Ronald.

Breen shared his knowledge as a discussion leader at the American Press Institute, as a member of the Pulitzer Prize nominating jury, as a regular contributor to the Hoosier State Press Association annual newsroom seminar, as a seminar speaker for the Mid-America Press Institute, as a speaker at the annual convention of the Society of Newspaper Designers, as a speaker to the national convention of the American Society of Newspaper Editors, as a speaker on photography and photo editing for the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association, as a guest lecturer at Franklin College, and as a volunteer at the annual HSPA/APME Indiana Job Fair where he critiqued the resumes of young journalists.

“Even today, almost a decade after leaving daily newspaper journalism, he is still at it. He is the morning drive-time host of a Marion radio news and interview program,” said Craig Klugman, former editor of the Journal-Gazette. 

Diana Hadley, executive director of the Indiana High School Press Association, a 12-year faculty member at Franklin College and a former journalism and media teacher at Mooresville High School.

Hadley created the First Amendment Symposium that draws together high school journalists and the Indiana legislature in the Capitol rotunda each spring. She is co-author of The Peace Class: A Study of Effective Cheek-Turning, Neighbor-Loving and Sword-to-Plowshares Conversion, based on a class she helped develop at Franklin College.

“Diana gave voice to the value of a free and responsible student press at a time when schools sought more control. Diana rallied people around the idea that journalism education ought to be a valid and necessary part of any high school curriculum. In doing so, she restored a sense of pride among advisers and confidence among students who simply wanted their journalism courses to count,” wrote Dennis Cripe, former professor in the Franklin College Pulliam School of Journalism.

John Norberg, who started his career with the Brazil Daily Times in 1971 and was an investigative writer and columnist for the Lafayette Journal and Courier through 2014.

Norbert is a freelance writer for the Time, Emergency Magazine and the Smithsonian Institution, and is author of seven books on Purdue University alumni and history.

“Fair but tenacious, he braved very real threats and long hours to uncover corruption and mismanagement. He stood up to public censure to shed light on changes and challenges in society. And he continues to show us all that good writing, whether for newspapers or books, seeks to tell the stories of individual people,” said Angie Rizzo, former managing editor of the Lafayette Courier and Gazette.

Bill Schrader, former editor and associate publisher of the (Bloomington) Herald-Times and a former editor and general manager of the (Bedford) Times-Mail. In retirement, he continues to oversee publication of a magazine for Schurz Communications.

Current Herald-Times editor Bob Zaltsberg said Schrader “led through editorials, pushed staff members to do better, educated members of the public about our role in the community, and stood up for journalism and freedom of speech. He was hard-nosed but eager for the newspaper to seek solutions.”

The late Jim Bannon, who before his death in 1998 had a long career of service in journalism in Indiana and was known as “Mr. Anderson” in Anderson, Indiana, where a bust of his likeness sits in the town square.

The former editor of the (Anderson) Herald-Bulletin and the assistant publisher and director of communications of Anderson Newspapers, Indiana, also worked in Elwood, Fort Wayne, Kokomo and New Haven.

He was a radio and television newsman in Fort Wayne and worked as a reporter with the Associated Press wire service in Louisville. He owned two weeklies, the Pendleton Times and Fortville Tribune.

Bannon was a past president of the Hoosier State Press Association and co-chaired a committee that helped write and guide the Indiana Open Door Law through the Legislature.

In addition to these inductees, the board will honor Steven C. Moberly with the John P. McMeel Distinguished Service Award for his work to keep the flow of vital government and political news transparent. As a member of the Indiana General Assembly in the 1970s and 1980s, Moberly sponsored or introduced legislation such as the Open Door Law, passed in 1977, which gives the media in Indiana a powerful weapon in the search for truth. Moberly, an attorney, was the principal sponsor of that law and others that guarantee public access to government meetings. Moberly also sponsored laws in 1979 and 1984 that strengthened the original legislation.

Join us:

Tickets for the luncheon are $50 each. All the details and an order form are on this downloadable invitation. You also may contact Larry Taylor, executive director of the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame,  by email at ijhf@indiana.edu or by phone at 812-856-9898.


  • Those interested in supporting the hall of fame may send checks to Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 785, Bloomington, IN 47402-0785.
  • The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame is located at The Media School, Franklin Hall, Indiana University-Bloomington.


browse alphabetically
or click a year below