Your search for Julie Slaymakeryielded 8 results.

Julie SlaymakerBoard Member · 2011

Julie Slaymaker, a national award-winning freelance writer, has led several professional groups, including Indiana Professional Chapter of The Society of Professional Journalists (president, 2001-2002) and Woman’s Press Club of Indiana (president 1988-1990 and 2009 to present). She also is a member of the Indiana Broadcast Pioneers. Meet the officers and board members

More >>

Slaymaker, Gene · 2015

“The voice for those who had no voice.” Those were the words used to describe veteran broadcaster Gene Slaymaker. The impact of his words resulted in more than 200 awards for journalism excellence during his distinguished career, which began when the Fremont, Ohio, native and World War II veteran was a reporter and announcer for […]

More >>

Salter, Stephanie · 2019

When Stephanie Salter was a pom-pom shaking cheerleader at Terre Haute’s Garfield High School, she didn’t dream of a career in journalism with a Pulitzer Prize nomination. “Mostly, I wanted to be Paul McCartney’s wife,” quipped the soft-spoken Salter with her trademark sarcastic wit and flashing blue eyes. Born in Vincennes on Nov. 11, 1949, […]

More >>

Fox, Lillian Thomas · 2014

In 1900, black journalist and activist Lillian Thomas Fox shattered the class ceiling. Hired by the white male-dominated and white-owned Indianapolis News, Fox became the first African-American writer for a white newspaper in Indiana. She wrote a regular column and features about the nearly 16,000 black Hoosiers then living in Indianapolis. The Washington, D.C., based […]

More >>

Rabb, Kate Milner · 2012

After a stroll in Indianapolis in 1905, pioneering newspaper columnist, historian, author and playwright Kate Milner Rabb and actress Edith Keay daintily lifted the skirts of their long, shirtwaist dresses and sat down on the curb at 14th and Delaware. The two talented women, who wanted to show off their talents, envisioned starting their own […]

More >>

Donors · 2010

We invite financial support from corporations and individuals. The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame Association is a not-for-profit corporation and donations are tax-deductible. Support the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame: Lawrence P. Taylor, Exective Director Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame 601 E. Kirkwood Bloomington, IN 47405 (812) 856-9898   Founding Donors: Shelbyville Newspapers Lebanon […]

More >>

Queirolo, Wanda Ramey · 2010

With the lipstick red “On the Air” sign flashing, Wanda Ramey took her co-anchor seat on San Francisco’s KPIX-TV Noon News set. It was literally a red-letter day in 1959: Ramey broke broadcasting’s gender barrier by becoming the first woman news anchor in the western United States, and only the second female anchor in the […]

More >>

Officers and Board Members · 2010

Officers President: Linda Negro, Evansville Vice President: Stephanie Salter, Terre Haute Secretary: Scarlett Syse, Franklin Executive Director: Lawrence Taylor, Bloomington Board Members Presidential Appointments Gena Asher, Westfield Virginia Black, West Lafayette Ray Boomhower, Indianapolis Terry English, Spencer Lee Giles, Brownsburg Kerry Hubartt, Fort Wayne Steve Key, Indianapolis Nelson Price, Indianapolis Leisa Richardson, Indianapolis James Shanahan, Bloomington […]

More >>


browse alphabetically
or click a year below