Tickets on sale for April 28 induction banquet

This story was posted on March 8, 2012.

moscowitz baumann
Hall of fame president Ray Moscowitz, left, examines newly inducted member J. Bruce Baumann's plaque at the 2011 ceremony. Tickets are on sale now for this year's induction ceremony April 28. (Photo by Ann Schertz)

Reserve your spot now for the 2012 Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame induction banquet, which honors five innovators in the field of journalism and the first recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

Inductees are publisher Mark Ferree, longtime Indianapolis reporter Skip Hess, 60 Minutes' Steve Kroft, writer and columnist Kate Milner Rabb and journalism professor and researcher David H. Weaver. Walt Tabak is the first to receive the Distinguished Service Award, created last year, for his 25 years of helping Associated Press member organizations move to new technologies.

The festivities begin at 10:30 a.m. April 28 in the Tudor Room of the Indiana Memorial Union on Indiana University’s Bloomington campus. After a cocktail reception, luncheon will be served at noon and the induction ceremony will follow.

Tickets are $40 each. To purchase, download this form (PDF format) and return in the U.S. mail with a check to cover all the people in your party. Deadline is April 20.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame has reserved a block of rooms for April 27 at the Hilton Garden Inn. Make reservations at 877-782-9444. Refer to “IJH” to access the hotel block and receive the special rate of $139 plus tax per night. Reserve your room by March 27.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame, founded in 1966, now includes more than 200 members. It is housed at the Indiana University School of Journalism’s Ernie Pyle Hall.


browse alphabetically
or click a year below