Order tickets for April 27 ceremony

This story was posted on April 1, 2013.

moscowitz baumann
Hall of fame inductee Steve Kroft of CBS' 60 Minutes chatted with IU student Deanna Allbrittin during the 2012 induction ceremony luncheon. (Photo by Ann Schertz)

Reserve your spot now for the 2013 Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame induction banquet, which honors six innovators in the field of journalism.

The festivities begin at 10:30 a.m. April 27 in the Tudor Room of the Indiana Memorial Union on Indiana University’s Bloomington campus. After a cocktail reception, luncheon will be served at noon and the induction ceremony will follow.

Inductees are:

  • The late Joe Aaron, a longtime reporter and columnist for the Evansville Courier;
  • Melissa Farlow, an award-winning photojournalist for National Geographic and several newspapers;
  • The late Jerry Lyst, The Indianapolis Star’s editorial page editor for nearly half of his 45 years with the newspaper;
  • The late Lowell Mellett, an Elwood native who was a newspaper executive in Washington before becoming a top aide to President Franklin D. Roosevelt;
  • Jack Ronald, the longtime publisher of Portland’s Commercial Review who has made numerous trips to former Soviet republics to advocate an independent and free press; and
  • Paul Tash, a South Bend native who is CEO and chairman of the Tampa Bay Times, and chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Poynter Institute.

The hall also will honor the Woman's Press Club of Indiana, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year. It was founded at the Ayres Tea Room in Indianapolis in 1913. Several of its members are also in the hall of fame.

Tickets are $40 each. To purchase, download this form (PDF format) and return in the U.S. mail with a check to cover all the people in your party. Deadline is April 17.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame has reserved a block of rooms for April 26 at the Indiana Memorial Union. Make reservations at 800-209-8145. Refer to “IJHF13” to access the hotel block and receive the special rate of $112-166.50 plus tax per night. Reserve your room by April 5.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame, founded in 1966, now includes more than 200 members. It is housed at the Indiana University School of Journalism’s Ernie Pyle Hall.


browse alphabetically
or click a year below