Nomination deadline Oct. 1

This story was posted on Aug. 30, 2011.

The deadline to nominate accomplished journalists for the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame is Oct. 1.

Reserved for those writers, publishers, broadcasters and others who have earned a place in Indiana journalism history, the organization inducts only a few new members each year.

“We already have some new nominees to consider for induction next April,” said hall of fame president Ray Moscowitz. “The board of directors will consider those people and holdover nominees when it meets in November.”

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame was established in 1966 by the Indiana Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists as a way to recognize those who have made significant contributions to the field of journalism. It is based at Ernie Pyle Hall on the campus of Indiana University, Bloomington.

Members range from those who are famous broadcasters and writers to the lesser-known small-town publishers to educators. Some members are figures from history, and members’ contributions reflect nearly 200 years of journalism in Indiana.

This year, the board also will take nominations for the new Distinguished Service to Journalism Award, established earlier this year to honor individuals who have made contributions to journalism through such ancillary areas as technology, business or freedom of information.

A 15-member board makes the selections for both awards based on nominations. The nomination process for the awards is outlined on the website.

For more information, contact:
Lawrence P. Taylor, Executive Director
Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame
940 E. Seventh St.
Bloomington, IN 47405
(812) 856-9898


browse alphabetically
or click a year below