Nominate new members by Oct. 1

This story was posted on June 21, 2013.

Photo by Ann Schertz
Paul Tash, publisher and CEO of Times Publishing, was inducted into the hall of fame in 2013.

The deadline to nominate accomplished journalists for the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame is Oct. 1.

Reserved for those writers, publishers, broadcasters and others who have earned a place in Indiana journalism history, the organization inducts only a few new members each year. The board of directors reviews nominations and makes final decisions, and new members are inducted in a ceremony in April.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame was established in 1966 by the Indiana Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists as a way to recognize those who have made significant contributions to the field of journalism. It is based at Ernie Pyle Hall on the campus of Indiana University, Bloomington.

Members range from those who are famous broadcasters and writers to the lesser-known small-town publishers to educators. Some members are figures from history, and members’ contributions reflect nearly 200 years of journalism in Indiana.

The board also will take nominations for the Distinguished Service to Journalism Award, established in 2011 to honor individuals who have made contributions to journalism through such ancillary areas as technology, business or freedom of information.

A 15-member board makes the selections for both awards based on nominations. The nomination process for the awards is outlined on the website.

For more information, contact:
Lawrence P. Taylor, Executive Director
Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame
940 E. Seventh St.
Bloomington, IN 47405
(812) 856-9898


browse alphabetically
or click a year below