Hall of Fame relocating to Bloomington

This story was posted on Feb. 26, 2010.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame is moving to Indiana University’s School of Journalism in Bloomington July 1, 2010.

Founded in 1966, the Hall of Fame has been housed at DePauw University in Greencastle. It was established by the Indiana Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, which has inducted 220 members.

"The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame board is excited about the hall being housed at one of the truly outstanding journalism schools in the nation," president Ray Moscowitz said. "With its great journalism heritage, IU is an ideal place for the hall to relocate. IJHF executive director Larry Taylor, Dean Brad Hamm and I have discussed some exciting ways to showcase great journalists with Hoosier connections. We're looking forward to next April's induction luncheon in Bloomington."

The hall’s board of directors voted at this year’s annual induction ceremony in April to partner with the School of Journalism. The school will assist the hall with displays honoring Indiana journalists, multimedia educational materials about the state’s journalism history, the annual induction ceremony and other events and communications.

“I can’t imagine a better partnership than this one between the Hall of Fame and the School of Journalism,” said Hamm. “Their goals match ours in many ways: to work with the best journalists and to teach about and celebrate the best in journalism. We’re very proud to have the Hall of Fame come to Bloomington.”

The Hall of Fame was formed “to recognize and honor those individuals who have demonstrated over a number of years that they are journalists of the highest distinction; that their dedication and contribution to journalism have in turn contributed to the regard others have for journalism; that their contributions to journalism have had a significant impact on the political, social, economic or cultural life of their communities.”

The School of Journalism is located in Ernie Pyle Hall, which is named for the Pulitzer Prize-winning World War II correspondent and inaugural member of the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame, who had been an IU student in the 1920s.

“Just being located at the center named for Ernie Pyle, one of Indiana's most celebrated journalists and storytellers, will be an immediate inspiration to all who visit the Hall of Fame and a reminder of the many Hoosier writers who continue to help us make sense of this increasingly complex world," said Taylor, IJHF executive director.


browse alphabetically
or click a year below